www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central

The Book Depository

Patrick White Award

Established by Patrick White following his Nobel Prize for Literature in 1973, and managed by
Perpetual as trustee of the philanthropic trust behind it, the Patrick White Award has been given to
authors who, in the opinion of the judging committee, have made a significant but inadequately
recognised 'contribution to Australian literature'.

The broad and generous terms of the Award mean that authors of different status and experience
may qualify for consideration. Many of the recipients have been older writers, for whom the Award
has meant a significant boost to their creativity. Some have been younger writers, who have been
encouraged by the prize to continue writing. In the view of the judging committee, many of the
winners have been overlooked to some extent or their contribution to Australian literature has been

The Award is not confined to authors of any particular genre. Poets, novelists, playwrights and
story writers have been among the 37 who have so far benefited from Patrick White's generosity.

Past recipients have included Christina Stead, Bruce Dawe, Janette Turner Hospital, Tom Hungerford
and Thea Astley.

As of 2 Nov 2010 the judging committee's current members are Dr Debra Adelaide, Professor David Carter and Dr Michael Costigan.

2010 Winner Southern  Highlands of  NSW based  novelist, short story writer, poet and essayist, David Foster.

2009 - Beverley Farmer
2008 - John Romeril
2007 - David Rowbotham
2006 - Morris Lurie
2005 - Fay Zwicky
2004 - Nancy Phelan
2003 - Janette Turner Hospital
2002 - Tom Hungerford
2001 - Geoff Page
2000 - Thomas W. Shapcott
1999 - Gerald Murnane
1998 - Alma de Groen
1997 – Vivian Smith
1996 – Elizabeth Harrower
1995 – Elizabeth Riddell
1994 – Dimitris Tsaloumas
1993 – Amy Witting
1992 – Peter Cowan
1991 – David Martin
1990 – Robert Gray
1989 – Thea Astley
1988 – Roland Robinson
1987 – William Hart-Smith
1986 – John Morrison
1985 – Judah Waten
1984 – Rosemary Dobson
1983 – Marjorie Barnard
1982 – Bruce Beaver
1981 – Dal Stivens
1980 – Bruce Dawe
1979 – Randolph Stow
1978 – Gwen Harwood
1977 – Sumner Locke Elliott
1976 – John Blight
1975 – David Campbell
1974 – Christina Stead

Fishpond Books

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Bookmark and Share

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

Kindle Readers are Hot!

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency