www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central

The Book Depository

Colin Roderick Award

The Colin Roderick Award was founded in 1967 by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies at James Cook University. The award is presented to 'the best book published in Australia which deals with any aspect of Australian life' and is open to all fields, including fiction, nonfiction and poetry

The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent

2009 Winner (AWARDED 2010)

Michael Cathcart has won the Colin Roderick Award for the best Australian book of 2009 in front of a strong shortlist. Cathcart won for his book The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent (Text). Cathcart was presented with the $10,000 award and the H.T. Priestley Medal.

Other shortlisted included:

Piano Lessons | The Lake Woman |Butterfly |Lovesong | The Bee Hut: Poems 2001-2008

Piano Lessons , Anna Goldsworthy, (Black Inc.)

The Lake Woman Alan Gould, (Australian Scholarly Press)

The Wolf, Richard Guilliat & Peter Hohnen, (Random House)

Butterfly , Sonya Hartnett,( Penguin)

Lovesong, Alex Miller, (A&U)

The Bee Hut (Dorothy Porter, Black Inc.).

Graham Freudenberg, Churchill and Australia, (Macmillan) and James Boyce, Van Dieman's Land, (Black Inc.), were joint winners of the award in 2009.

Past Winners:

2007: Malcolm Knox, Jamaica
2006: Deborah Robertson, Careless
2005: Peter Temple, The Broken Shore
2004: Alan Wearne, The Lovemakers & Tim Winton, The Turning
2003: Tom Keneally, The Tyrant's Novel
2002: Don Watson, Recollections of a Bleeding Heart: A Portrait of Paul Keating PM
2001: Peter Rose, Rose Boys
2000: Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang
1999: Christopher Koch, Out of Ireland
1998: Robert Dessaix, (And So Forth)
1997: Peter Edwards, A Nation at War
1996: Tim Flannery, Roger Martin and Alexandra Szalay, Illustrator Peter Schouten, Tree Kangaroos
1995: Judy Cassab, Diaries
1994: Patrick Buckridge, The Scandalous Penton: A Biography of Brian Penton
1993: Cassandra Pybus, Gross Moral Turpitude:The Orr Case Reconsidered
1992: Ruth Park, A Fence Around the Cuckoo
1991: Joan Dugdale, Struggle of Memory
1990: Roland Griffiths-Marsh, Sixpenny Soldier
1989: Chris Symons, John Bishop: A Life for Music
1988: Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda
1987: Nancy Phelan, Home is the Sailor and The Best of Intentions
1986: Fr Tom Boland, James Duhig
1985: John Gunn, The Defeat of Distance:Qantas 1919-1939
1984: Alan Gould, The Man Who Stayed Below
1983: Dudley McCarthy, Gallipoli to the Somme
1982: Geoffrey Serle, John Monash: A Biography
1981: Gavin Souter, A Company of Heralds
1980: Allan Grocott, Convicts, Clergymen and Churches
1979: Thea Astley, Hunting the Wild Pineapple
1978: Leslie Rees, History of Australian Drama
1977: Alan Marshall, The Complete Stories of Alan Marshall
1976: Gavin Souter, Lion and Kangaroo
1975: Denis Murphy, TJ Ryan
1974: David Malouf, Neighbours in a Thicket
1973: Dorothy Green, Ulysses Bound
1972: Sir Keith Hancock, Discovering Monaro
1971: Geoffrey Serle, The Rush to be Rich
1970: Margaret Lawne, Myths and Legends of Torres Strait
1969: Francis Webb, Collected Poems
1968: Gavin Souter, A Peculiar People
1967: Douglas Stewart, Collected Poems, 1936-1967

Fishpond Books

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Bookmark and Share

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

Kindle Readers are Hot!

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency