www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Trillium Book Award is given annually by the government of the Province of Ontario and is open to books in any genre: fiction, non-fiction, drama, children's books, and poetry. Anthologies, new editions, re-issues and translations are not eligible. Three jury members per language judge the submissions, select the shortlist and the winning title. The jury is composed of writers and other members of the literary community.

Canadian citizens and landed immigrants who have lived in Ontario for at least three out of the past five years and who have been published anywhere in the world are eligible. Their publishers are invited to submit titles to the Ministry of Culture for consideration. In 1993 the award was expanded by Bob Rae's government to also include a French language category. In 2003, English and French poetry categories were added to the awards.

The award given to the author of each winning book is $20,000 and their publishers receive $2,500 for the marketing and promotion of the titles.

2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 |1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987

2010 Winners & Finalists

The 2010 Trillium Book Award Winners:

English-language book: Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon (Random House Canada)
French-language book: Ryad Assani-Razaki, Deux cercles (VLB éditeur)
Poetry in English-language: Karen Solie, Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)
Poetry in French-language: Michèle Matteau, Passerelles (Les Éditions L'Interligne)

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:
Margaret Atwood, The Year of the Flood (McClelland & Stewart)
Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon (Random House Canada)
Alexandra Leggat, Animal (Anvil Press)
Anne Michaels, The Winter Vault (McClelland & Stewart)
Alice Munro, Too Much Happiness (McClelland & Stewart)
Emily Schultz, Heaven is Small (House of Anansi Press)
Cordelia Strube, Lemon (Coach House Books)

French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:
Ryad Assani-Razaki, Deux cercles (VLB éditeur)
Nicole Champeau, Pointe Maligne. L’infiniment oubliée (Les Éditions du Vermillon)
Jean Mohsen Fahmy, Frères ennemis (VLB éditeur)
Daniel Poliquin, René Lévesque (Les Éditions du Boréal)
Daniel Soha, La Maison : une parabole (Éditions du GREF)

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:
Susan Holbrook, Joy is so Exhausting (Coach House Books)
Karen Solie, Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)
Matthew Tierney, The Hayflick Limit (Coach House Books)

French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:
Jacqueline Borowick, Le chant du coucou (Inanna Publications & Education Inc.)
Michèle Matteau, Passerelles (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

2009 Winners

Pasha Malla, The Withdrawal Method (House of Anansi Press)

Marguerite Andersen, Le figuier sur le toit (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

Jeramy Dodds, Crabwise to the Hounds (Coach House Books)

Children’s Literature in French-language
: Paul Prud’Homme, Les Rebuts : Hockey 2 (Les Éditions du Vermillon)

2008 Winners

  • English-language winner: Barbara Gowdy, Helpless (HarperCollins)
  • French-language winner: Pierre Raphaël Pelletier, L’OEil de la lumière (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • English-language Poetry winner: Rachel Zolf, Human Resources (Coach House Books)
  • French-language Poetry winner: Tina Charlebois, Poils lisses (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

o English - Barbara Gowdy (left) , Helpless
o English (Poetry) - Rachel Zolf, Human Resources
o French - Pierre Raphaël Pelletier, L'Oeil de la lumière
o French (Poetry) - Tina Charlebois, Poils lisses

o English - Mark Frutkin, Fabrizio's Return
o English (Poetry) - Ken Babstock, Airstream Land Yacht
o French - Paul Savoie, Crac and Daniel Castillo Durante, La Passion des nomades
o French (Children's) - Françoise Lepage, Poupeska

o English - Camilla Gibb, Sweetness in the Belly
o English (Poetry) - Kevin Connolly, drift
o French - Jean Mohsen Fahmy, L'Agonie des dieux
o French (Poetry) - Éric Charlebois, Centrifuge

o English - Wayson Choy, All That Matters
o English (Poetry) - Maureen Scott Harris, Drowning Lessons
o French - Antonio D'Alfonso, Un vendredi du mois d'aout
o French (Poetry) - there was no prize given this year, as there were fewer than 5 submissions. The prize money is being used to create a scholarship for French-language emerging poets.

o English - Thomas King, The Truth About Stories
o English (Poetry) - Adam Sol, Crowd of Sounds
o French - Serge Denis, Social-démocratie et mouvements ouvriers and François Paré, La distance habitée
o French (Poetry) - Angèle Bassolé-Ouédraogo, Avec tes mots

o English - Austin Clarke, The Polished Hoe and Nino Ricci, Testament
o French - Michel Ouellette, Le testament du couturier and Éric Charlebois, Faux-fuyants

o English - Richard B. Wright, Clara Callan
o French - Michèle Matteau, Cognac et Porto

o English - Don Coles, Kurgan
o French - Didier Leclair, Toronto, je t'aime

o English - Alistair MacLeod, No Great Mischief
o French - Andrée Christensen and Jacques Flamand, Lithochronos ou le premier vol de la pierre

o English - André Alexis, Childhood and Alice Munro, The Love of a Good Woman
o French - Daniel Poliquin, L'homme de paille and Stefan Psenak, Du chaos et de l'ordre des choses

o English - Dionne Brand, Land to Light On
o French - Roger Levac, Petite Crapaude!

o English - Anne Michaels, Fugitive Pieces
o French - Nancy Vickers, Le Pied de Sappho and Alain Bernard Marchand, Tintin au pays de la ferveur

o English - Margaret Atwood, Morning in the Burned House and Wayson Choy, The Jade Peony
o French - Maurice Henrie, Le Balcon dans le ciel

o English - Donald Harman Akenson, Conor: A Biography of Conor Cruise O'Brien; Volume 1 Narrative
o French - Andrée Lacelle, Tant de vie s'égare

1993 - Jane Urquhart, Away and Margaret Atwood, The Robber Bride

1992 - Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient

1991 - Margaret Atwood, Wilderness Tips

1990 - Alice Munro, Friend of My Youth

1989 - Modris Eksteins, Rites of Spring

1988 - Timothy Findley, Stones

1987 - Michael Ondaatje, In the Skin of a Lion

back to top













Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency