www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award based on excellence of writing in two categories: adult and young adult. The awards are presented annually to Canadian writers with a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection of speculative fiction published any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction, the awards consist of a cash award of Cdn$1,000 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed "Sunburst" logo. The winners receive their awards in the fall of every year.

2009 Winners

Toronto, September 28, 2009: The Sunburst Award Committee is pleased to announce that the winner of its 2009 adult award is The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson (Random House Canada, ISBN 0307356779) and the winner of its 2009 young adult award is Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (Tor, ISBN 0765319853).

2009 Winners

The other shortlisted works for the 2009 adult award were:

  • Night Child by Jes Battis;
  • The Alchemist's Code by Dave Duncan;
  • Things Go Flying by Shari Lapeña; and
  • Half a Crown by Jo Walton.

The other shortlisted works for the 2009 Young Adult award were:

  • The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong;
  • Dingo by Charles de Lint;
  • Wild Talent: A Novel of the Supernatural by Eileen Kernaghan; and
  • Night Runner by Max Turner.

2008 Sunburst Awards Winners

Novel: The New Moon’s Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner Books)
Young Adult: Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet, Joanne Proulx (Viking Canada)

2008 other adult award shortlisted:

Michelle Butler Hallett, Double-blind
Amber Hayward, Darkness of the God
William Neil Scott, Wonderfull
Robert Charles Wilson, Axis

2008 other YA award shortlisted :

Deborah Lynn Jacobs, Choices
Carrie Mac, Retribution
Kenneth Oppel, Darkwing
Drew Hayden Taylor, The Night Wanderer

2007 Winner Fabrizio's Return by Mark Frutkin (Alfred A. Knopf Canada, ISBN 0-676-97727-8).

The other shortlisted works were:

Martine Leavitt, Keturah and Lord Death;
Carrie Mac, The Droughtlanders;
Peter Watts, Blindsight;
Robert Wiersema, Before I Wake.

2006 Winner In the Palace of Repose (Prime Books, ISBN 1894815580) by Holly Phillips

The other shortlisted works fwere:

Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town, Cory Doctorow (Tor Books, ISBN 0765312786);
Gravity Wells: Speculative Fiction Stories, James Alan Gardner (HarperCollins Canada, ISBN 0060087706);
The Wave Theory of Angels, Alison MacLeod (Penguin Canada, ISBN 0143051334); and
Spin, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor Books, ISBN 07653093866).

2005 Winner : Air, by Geoff Ryman (St. Martin's)

Other shortlisted:

The Last Light of the Sun by Guy Gavriel Kay;
The Memory Artists by Jeffrey Moore;
Airborn by Kenneth Oppel;
The Logogryph by Thomas Wharton.

2004 Winner A Place So Foreign and 8 More by Cory Doctorow (Four Walls Eight Windows Press)

Other shortlisted:

The Bone House, Luanne Armstrong (New Star Books);
Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood (McClelland & Stewart);
Initiation, Virginia Frances Schwartz (Fitzhenry & Whiteside); and
Blind Lake, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor Books).

2003 Sunburst Winner Skin Folk by Nalo Hopkinson, Warner Aspect
ISBN: 0446678031

2002 Sunburst Award Winner

When Alice Lay Down with Peter, by Margaret Sweatman, Alfred A. Knopf Canada
ISBN: 0676973159

back to top


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency