www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



This annual R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature competition, run-by the Writers Guild of Alberta, recognizes excellence in writing by an author who has been resident in Alberta for at least twelve of the previous eighteen months. The winner receives a leather-bound copy of his/her book and a $500 cash award. The award alternates yearly between picture and chapter books.

2010 -Linda Smith (Grande Prairie)—The Broken Thread, Coteau Books

2009 Hazel Hutchins, Mattland. Co-authored by Gail Herbert. Illustrated by Dušan Petričić. Toronto: Annick Press, 2008.
2008 Katherine Holubitsky, The Big Snapper. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2006.
2007 Dale Auger Mwâkwa Talks to the Loon: A Cree Story for Children. Surrey, BC: Heritage House, 2006.
2006 Colleen Heffernan A Kind of Courage. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2005.
2005 Joan Marie Galat Dot to Dot in the Sky: Stories of the Moon. Illustrated by Lorna Bennett. Vancouver: Whitecap Books, 2004.
2004 Glen Huser Stitches. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2003.
2002 Katherine Holubitsky Last Summer in Agatha. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2001.
2001 Anita Horrocks Topher. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 2000.
2000 Barbara Demers Willa's New World. Regina: Coteau Books, 1999.
1999 Anita Horrocks What They Don't Know. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 1998.
1998 Hazel Hutchins The Prince of Tarn. Toronto: Annick Press, 1997.
1997 Don Trembath The Tuesday Cafe. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 1996.
1996 Tololwa Mollel Big Boy. Illustrated by E. B. Lewis. Toronto: Stoddart Publishing, 1995.
1995 Beth Goobie Mission Impossible. Red Deer, AB: Red Deer College Press, 1994.
1994 David Bly The McIntyre Liar. Edmonton: Tree Frog Press, 1993.
1992 Monica Hughes The Crystal Drop. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1992.
1991 Hazel Hutchins A Cat of Artimus Pride. Toronto: Annick Press, 1991.
1990 Jan Hudson Dawn Rider. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1990.
1989 Don Meredith Dog Runner. Saskatoon: Western Producer Prairie Books, 1989.
1988 William Pasnak Under the Eagle's Claw. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1988.
1987 Marilyn Halvorson Nobody Said It Would Be Easy. Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1987.
1986 Monica Hughes Blaine's Way. Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1986.
1985 Cora Taylor Julie. Saskatoon: Western Producer Prairie Books, 1985.
1984 William Pasnak In the City of the King. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1984.
1983 Monica Hughes Space Trap. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1983.
1982 Monica Hughes Hunter in the Dark. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1982.





Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency