www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Ontario Library Association’s annual Red Maple Award was first presented in 1998. This award is open to Canadian authors writing at the Grade 7-8 level, who have been published within the last two years. Originally established to honour fiction books, in 2005 the award was expanded to include a non-fiction category. The winner is selected by Ontario’s young readers. In 2008, the official sponsor of the Red Maple Award reading program will be S & B Books. The award was previously sponsored by National Book Service (NBS).

2010 Red Maple Winners

Red Maple Award (Grade 7–8):
Susin Nielsen, Word Nerd (Tundra Books)
Honour Book #1 – Night Runner by Max Turner (HarperCollinsCanada)
Honour Book #2 – Leaving Fletchville by René Schmidt (Orca Book Publishers)

2009 Fiction Norah McClintock, Out of the Cold. Toronto: Scholastic Canada, 2007.
2009 Non-fiction Elizabeth MacLeod, Royal Murder: The Deadly Intrigue of the Ten Sovereigns. Toronto: Annick Press, 2008.
2008 Fiction Eric Walters Safe as Houses, Doubleday Canada
2007 Fiction Eric Walters We All Fall Down. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2006.
2007 Non-fiction Andreas Schroeder Thieves! Toronto: Annick Press, 2005.
2006 Fiction Kenneth Oppel Skybreaker. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2005.
2005 Fiction Kenneth Oppel Airborn. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2004.
2005 Non-fiction Andrea Schroeder Scams! Ten Stories that Explore Some of the Most Outrageous Swindlers and Tricksters of All Time.
2004 Non-fiction Lyn Thomas Ha! Ha! Ha! 1000+ Jokes, Riddles, Facts, and More. Toronto: Maple Tree Press/Owl Books, 2001.
2004 Norah McClintock Hit and Run. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2003.
2003 Gayle Friesen Losing Forever. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2002.
2002 Kathy Kacer Clara’s War. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2001.
2001 Eric Walters Rebound. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 2000.
2000 Anita Horrocks What They Don't Know. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 1998.
1999 Gayle Friesen Janey's Girl. Toronto: Kids Can Press,1998.
1998 Carol Matas After the War. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1996.


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency