www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize
Winner: $10,000
; Winning publisher: $2,000

The Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to a new and developing writer of distinction for a short story published in a Canadian literary publication.

This award is made possibe by James A. Michener’s generous donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his novel Journey, published by McClelland & Stewart in 1988.

The Journey Prize is the most significant monetary award given in Canada to a writer at the beginning of his or her career for a short story or excerpt from a fiction work-in-progress.

2009 Winner

Yasuko Thanh
"Floating Like the Dead"
Published by Vancouver Review

Using artfully simple language, Yasuko Thanh has crafted a story of powerfully resonant emotion with tremendous restraint – a gift that respects both her characters and her readers.

About the Author

Yasuko Thanh has lived in Germany, Mexico, and Central America, and currently resides in Victoria. Her stories have been published in Prairie Fire, Descant, and PRISM international. She was a finalist for the Hudson Prize, the Future Generations Millennium Prize, and the David Adams Richards Award. She is at work on a novel and a short story collection called When You Get Where You're Going.
About the Story

At the turn of the twentieth century, a dwindling group of Chinese-Canadian lepers spend their final days fighting for survival and dreaming of escape after they are exiled to a remote island.

2008 Winner Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

Saleema Nawaz (Montreal) for “My Three Girls,” published in Prairie Fire
“This tightly written piece accomplishes the impressive feat of condensing a novel’s worth of sorrows and joys into a few pages.”

For publishing the winning entry, Prairie Fire receives $2,000.

2008 Shortlist

Jury: Lynn Coady (Toronto),Heather O’Neill (Montreal), and Neil Smith (Montreal)
The journal that published the winning entry receives $2,000.

• DanaMills (Toronto) for “Steaming for Godthab,” published in Geist
• Saleema Nawaz (Montreal) for “My Three Girls,” published in Prairie Fire- Winner
• Clea Young (Vancouver) for “Chaperone,” published in Grain Magazine

Previous Winners

2007 Craig Boyko for OZY
2006 Heather Birrell for BriannaSusannaAlana
2005 Matt Shaw for Matchbook for a Mother's Hair
2004 Devin Krukoff for The Last Spark
2003 Jessica Grant for My Husband's Jump
2002 Jocelyn Brown for Miss Canada
2001 Kevin Armstrong for The Cane Field
2000 Timothy Taylor for Doves of Townsend
1999 Alissa York for The Back of the Bear’s Mouth
1998 John Brooke for The Finer Points of Apples
1997 (tie) Gabriella Goliger for Maladies of the Inner Ear and Anne Simpson for Dreaming Snow
1996 Elyse Gasco for Can You Wave Bye Bye, Baby?
1995 Kathryn Woodward for Of Marranos and Gilded Angels
1994 Melissa Hardy for Long Man the River
1993 Gayla Reid for Sister Doyle’s Men
1992 Rozena Maart for No Rosa, No District Six
1991 Yann Martel for The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios
1990 Cynthia Flood for My Father Took a Cake to France
1989 Holley Rubinsky for Rapid Transits

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency