www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman, Arthur Ellis Best Juvenile Crime Award are awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada. Crime Writers of Canada is Canada's national professional association of published authors of crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense and thriller fiction - both novels and short stories, true crime and genre. The book must be published within the preceding year by a Canadian resident, regardless of nationality, or a Canadian writer living abroad. In 1993, a category for best juvenile mystery was included.


Best Juvenile: Haunted Author: BARBARA HAWORTH-ATTARD

2009 Best Juvenile

Sharon E. McKay, War Brothers (Penguin Canada) -Winner
Vicki Grant, Res Judicata (Orca)
Susan Juby, Getting the Girl (HarperCollins)
Elizabeth MacLeod, Royal Murder (Annick Press)
Norah McClintock, Dead Silence (Scholastic Canada)

    Winners 1994 - present
2007 Seán Cullen Hamish X and the Cheese Pirates. Toronto: Penguin Group (Canada), 2006.
2006 Vicki Grant Quid Pro Quo. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2005.
2005 Carrie Mac The Beckoners. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2004.
2004 Graham McNamee Acceleration. New York: Random House Children’s Books, 2003.
2003 Norah McClintock Break and Enter. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2002.
2002 Norah McClintock Scared to Death. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2001.
2001 Tim Wynne-Jones The Boy in the Burning House. Toronto: Groundwood/Douglas & McIntyre, 2000.
2000 Linda Bailey How Can a Brilliant Detective Shine in the Dark? Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1999.
1999 Norah McClintock Sins of the Father. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1998.
1998 Norah McClintock The Body in the Basement. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1997.
1997 Linda Bailey How Can A Frozen Detective Stay Hot On The Trail? Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1996.
1996 Norah McClintock Mistaken Identity. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1995.
1995 James Heneghan Torn Away. Toronto: Viking, 1994.
1994 John Dowd Abalone Summer. Vancouver: Raincoast Books, 1993.


back to top


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency