www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Aye Write Prize for the Novel of the Year

The £5,000 prize is open to any full-length novel, written in English by someone either born in Scotland or who has worked in Scotland for the 12 months prior to the award ceremony. It is awarded at the Aye Write Festival, Scotland's newest and most exciting literary festival.

2009 Winner -Kieron Boy Smith

15TH March, 2009 REVOLUTIONARY SCOTTISH author James has scooped the 2009 Aye Write prize for the novel of the year. last night at one of Scotland's most prestigious literary festivals.

-Kelman's latest novel, Kieron Boy Smith, portrays Glasgow during a period of dramatic social change, with sectarianism on the increase. Rejected by his brother and largely ignored by his parents, the titular Kieron Smith finds comfort in the home of his much-loved grandparents. But when his family move to a new housing scheme on the outskirts of the city, a world away from the close community of the tenements, Kieron struggles to find a way to adapt to his new life.

Judging panel

The judges for the 2009 award are Rob Maslen ( University of Glasgow), Rosemary Goring (The Herald), Mary Greenshields (Glasgow Libraries), and Alan Bissett (novelist).

The winner will receive £5,000 and a trophy at a special ceremony on Saturday 14th March, the final event of Aye Write! Book Festival 2009.

2009 Other Shortlisted-

Little Hut of Leaping Fishes - Chiew-Siah Tei

The Fire Gospel (Myths) - Michel Faber

The Red Book - Meaghan Delahunt

Under Control - Mark McNay

We Are Now Beginning Our Descent - James Meek

back to top

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency