www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Biography Robert Drewe

Robert Drewe was born in Melbourne and grew up on the West Australian coast. His first book of stories, The Bodysurfers, was published in 1983 and has become an Australian classic – regularly reprinted, widely translated and adapted for screen, stage and radio. His other prize-winning books include story collection The Bay of Contented Men and novels Our Sunshine, The Drowner and Grace. He is currently working on a sequel to his memoir The Shark Net.

The Penguin Book of the Beach| The Shark Net| The Drowner| The Bodysurfers| The Bay of Contented Men| Grace


The Savage Crows (1976)
A Cry in the Jungle Bar (1979)
Fortune (1986)
Our Sunshine (1991)
The Drowner (1997)
Grace (2005)

Short story collections

The Bodysurfers (1983)
The Bay of Contented Men (1989)
Radiant Heat (1989)
The Rip (2008)

As editor

The Picador Book of the Beach (1993), (later The Penguin Book of the Beach 2007)
The Penguin Book of the City (1997)
Best Australian Stories (2006)


South American Barbecue (1991)
The Bodysurfers: The Play


Walking Ella (1999)
The Shark Net (2000)

back to top

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency