www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central




Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight in 1962, where his father was prison governor at Camp Hill prison. Later the family moved to London. He boarded at The Pilgrim's School, where he was a chorister, then went to Winchester College before reading English at Oxford University. He did a series of odd jobs to support his writing before becoming a full-time novelist, moving to Cornwall in 1987. He is the author of several novels, and also writes short stories and novellas. He has written one book of non-fiction, on the American novelist Armistead Maupin, and also writes book reviews for The Daily Telegraph.

His first two novels, Ease and The Aerodynamics of Pork, were published on the same day in 1986. The Facts of Life (1995) tells the story of Edward Pepper, an exile saved from Nazi Germany in the Kindertransport, and Tree Surgery for Beginners (1998) is about Laurence Frost, an inarticulate tree surgeon. A Sweet Obscurity (2003) is told from the alternating viewpoints of four separate characters. Friendly Fire (2003) draws on the author's own experience of a late 1970s adolescence, and his latest novel, Notes from an Exhibition (2007) is set in Cornwall, exploring the effects of mental illness on artist Rachel Kelly and her family.

Patrick Gale's book of short stories, Dangerous Pleasures (1996) contains his first published short story, 'Borneo', shortlisted for the Whitbread Short Story Award in 1985, and 'Wig', which has since been produced on stage as a touring live literature performance.

In 2002, Rough Music (2000) was shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and in 2008, Notes from an Exhibition was shortlisted for the British Book Awards: Richard & Judy Best Read of the Year, and won the Booksellers Association Independent Booksellers' Book Prize.

Mr. Gales latest book, The Whole Day Through Fourth Estate, is due out May 2009,


Ease   Abacus, 1986

The Aerodynamics of Pork   Abacus, 1986

Kansas in August   Century, 1987

Facing the Tank   Hutchinson, 1988

Little Bits of Baby   Chatto & Windus, 1989

The Cat Sanctuary   Chatto & Windus, 1990

Secret Lives   (contributor)   Constable, 1991

The Facts of Life   Flamingo, 1995

Dangerous Pleasures   (short stories)   Flamingo, 1996

Tree Surgery for Beginners   Flamingo, 1998

Armistead Maupin   Absolute, 1999

Rough Music   Flamingo, 2000

A Sweet Obscurity   Flamingo, 2003

Friendly Fire   (illustrated by Aidan Hicks)   Fourth Estate, 2005

Notes from an Exhibition   Fourth Estate, 2007

The Whole Day Through, Fourth Estate, due out May 2009

Prizes and awards

1985   Whitbread Short Story Award   (shortlist - 'Borneo')

2002   International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award   (shortlist)   Rough Music

2008   Booksellers Association Independent Booksellers' Book Prize   Notes from an Exhibition

2008   British Book Awards: Richard & Judy Best Read of the Year   (shortlist)   Notes from an Exhibition

back to top

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency