www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Author Biographyamis_martin

Martin Amis was born in Oxford in 1949, the son of the writer Kingsley Amis. He was educated in schools in Britain, Spain and the USA, and graduated from Exeter College, Oxford, with First Class Honours in English. He wrote and published his first novel, The Rachel Papers (1973), while working as an editorial assistant at the Times Literary Supplement. The novel won a Somerset Maugham Award in 1974 and was followed by Dead Babies in 1975. He was Literary Editor of the New Statesman between 1977 and 1979, publishing his third novel, Success, in 1978.

Regarded by many critics as one of the most influential and innovative voices in contemporary British fiction, Amis is often grouped with the generation of British-based novelists that emerged during the 1980s and included Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwan and Julian Barnes. His work has been heavily influenced by American fiction, especially the work of Philip Roth, John Updike and Saul Bellow. A loose trilogy of novels set in London begins with Money: A Suicide Note (1984), a satire of Thatcherite amorality and greed, continues with London Fields (1989), and concludes with The Information (1995), a tale of literary rivalry. Time's Arrow (1991), was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction. 

Other books include Night Train (1997), a pastiche of American detective fiction, an acclaimed volume of autobiography, Experience (2000) - winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize - and Koba the Dread, a non-fiction work about communism in the 20th century (2002).

Amis is also the author of several collections of essays, including The Moronic Inferno and Other Visits to America (1986), Visiting Mrs Nabokov and Other Excursions (1993), and The War Against Cliché (2001), which includes essays and book reviews. His two collections of short stories are Einstein's Monsters (1987), and Heavy Water and Other Stories (1998).

His latest books are House of Meetings (2006), taking the form of a novella and two short stories, and The Second Plane (2008), a book of essays and short stories.
He is a regular contributor to numerous newspapers, magazines and journals, including the Sunday Times, The Observer, the Times Literary Supplement and the New York Times. He was awarded an honorary LittD by the University of East Anglia in 2000.

Martin Amis lives in London. He became Professor of Creative Writing at Manchester University in 2007. Buy Martin Amis Books from Blackwells


The Rachel Papers   Cape, 1973

Dead Babies   Cape, 1975

Success   Cape, 1978

Other People: A Mystery Story   Cape, 1981

Invasion of the Space Invaders   Hutchinson, 1982

Money: A Suicide Note   Cape, 1984

The Moronic Inferno and Other Visits to America   Cape, 1986

Einstein's Monsters   Cape, 1987

London Fields   Cape, 1989

Time's Arrow   Cape, 1991

Visiting Mrs Nabokov and Other Excursions   Cape, 1993

The Information   Flamingo, 1995

Night Train   Cape, 1997

Heavy Water and Other Stories   Cape, 1998

Experience   Cape, 2000

The War Against Cliché   Cape, 2001

Koba the Dread: Laughter and the Twenty Million   Cape, 2002

On Modern British Fiction   (contributor: 'Against Dryness')   Oxford University Press, 2002

Yellow Dog   Cape, 2003

Vintage Amis   Vintage, 2004

House of Meetings   Cape, 2006

The Pregnant Widow   Cape, 2008


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency