www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Biography John Boyne

John Boyne was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1971. He studied English Literature at Trinity College, Dublin, and was a student on the MA course in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia and began publishing short stories in his early twenties.  His first novel, The Thief of Time, was published in 2000 (about a 256 man who looks back on his life lived among the great names of history); this was followed by The Congress of Rough Riders (2001), a re-telling of the life of Western showman Buffalo Bill Cody, told from the point of view of his fictional great-grandson William. 

In 2005, he published his third novel, Crippen, - the story of Dr Hawley Harvey Crippen who was the focus of a transatlantic chase by Scotland Yard in 1910 after the dismembered body of his wife was found in the cellar of his Camden home.  The Boy In The Striped Pajamas followed in 2006, originally published for younger readers, it quickly found an audience with both adults and children and has, or is scheduled to be, published in 18 languages. 

The full length feature film of book was made by by Mirimax.

Next of Kin, was published by Penguin in October 2006. Mutiny on the Bounty: a Novel of the Bounty followed in 2008 and his latest work is The House of Special Purpose.


The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency