www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central




Dame Beryl Bainbridge was born in Lancashire on 21 November 1934. She was educated at Merchant Taylors' School in Liverpool and worked as an actress at Liverpool Repertory Theatre. She was awarded a DBE in 2000. She wrote her first novel, Harriet Said, during the 1950s, although it was not published until 1972.

Her first published novel, A Weekend with Claud, appeared in 1967 (revised edition 1981), and was followed by Another Part of the Wood (1968), and The Dressmaker (1973), adapted as a film in 1989. The Bottle Factory Outing (1974) won the Guardian Fiction Prize and Injury Time (1977) won the Whitbread Novel Award. An Awfully Big Adventure (1989) drew on her experiences as an actress working in Liverpool during the 1950s and was adapted as a film. Her more recent novels, based on real lives and historical events, include The Birthday Boys (1991), the story of Captain Scott's ill-fated Antarctic expedition; Every Man For Himself (1996), set on board the Titanic; and Master Georgie (1998), chronicling a young surgeon's adventures during the Crimean War. Every Man for Himself won the Whitbread Novel Award and Master Georgie won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction), the WH Smith Literary Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction. Her most recent novel, According to Queeney (2001), is the story of Dr Johnson's relationship with Hester Thrale.

Beryl Bainbridge lives in north London.-


A Weekend with Claud   (revised as 'A Weekend with Claude; 1981)   Hutchinson, 1967

Another Part of the Wood   Hutchinson, 1968

Harriet Said   Duckworth, 1972

Sweet William   Duckworth, 1973

The Dressmaker   Duckworth, 1973

The Bottle Factory Outing   Duckworth, 1974

A Quiet Life   Duckworth, 1976

Injury Time   Duckworth, 1977

Young Adolf   Duckworth, 1978

Winter Garden   Duckworth, 1980

English Journey   Duckworth, 1984

Watson's Apology   Duckworth, 1984

Forever England   Duckworth, 1985

Mum and Mr Armitage   Duckworth, 1985

Filthy Lucre, or The Tragedy of Andrew Ledwhistle and Richard Soleway   Duckworth, 1986

An Awfully Big Adventure   Duckworth, 1989

The Birthday Boys   Duckworth, 1991

Something Happened Yesterday   Duckworth, 1993

Collected Stories   Duckworth, 1994

Every Man For Himself   Duckworth, 1996

Master Georgie   Duckworth, 1998

According to Queeney   Little, Brown, 2001

Front Row: Evenings at the Theatre   Continuum International, 2005

The Girl in the Polka Dot Dress   Little, Brown, 2008

Prizes and awards

1973   Booker Prize for Fiction   (shortlist)   The Dressmaker

1974   Booker Prize for Fiction   (shortlist)   The Bottle Factory Outing

1974   Guardian Fiction Prize   The Bottle Factory Outing

1977   Whitbread Novel Award   Injury Time

1990   Booker Prize for Fiction   (shortlist)   An Awfully Big Adventure

1996   Booker Prize for Fiction   (shortlist)   Every Man For Himself

1996   Whitbread Novel Award   Every Man For Himself

1998   Booker Prize for Fiction   (shortlist)   Master Georgie

1998   James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction)   Master Georgie

1999   Commonwealth Writers Prize (Eurasia Region, Best Book)   Master Georgie

1999   WH Smith Literary Award   Master Georgie

2000   DBE

2003   David Cohen British Literature Prize   (jointly with Thom Gunn)



Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency