www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



In 1982, Scott O'Dell established The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction. The annual award of $5,000 goes to a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. Scott O'Dell established this award to encourage other writers--particularly new authors--to focus on historical fiction. He hoped in this way to increase the interest of young readers in the historical background that has helped to shape their country and their world.

Winners of the Scott O'Dell Award
for Historical Fiction

Year Recipient Book Title Publisher
2009 Laurie Halse Anderson Chains Simon & Schuster
2008 Christopher Paul Curtis Elijah of Buxton Scholastic

2007 Ellen Klages The Green Glass Sea Viking Children's Books
2006 Louise Erdrich The Game of Silence HarperCollins Children's Books

2005 A LaFaye Worth Simon & Schuster
2004 Richard Peck The River Between Us Dial Press
2003 Shelley Pearsall Trouble Don't Last Alfred A Knopf
2002 Mildred D Taylor The Land Phyllis Fogelman Books
2001 Janet Taylor Lisle The Art of Keeping Cool A Richard Jackson Book/Atheneum
2000 Miriam Bat-Ami Two Suns in the Sky Front Street/
Cricket Books
1999 Harriette Robinet Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule Jean Fritz/Atheneum
1998 Karen Hesse Out of the Dust Scholastic
1997 Katherine Paterson Jip, His Story Lodestar/Dutton
1996 Theodore Taylor The Bomb Harcourt, Brace
1995 Graham Salisbury Under the Blood-Red Sun Delacorte
1994 Paul Fleischman Bull Run Laura Geringer/
1993 Michael Dorris Morning Girl Hyperion
1992 Mary Downing Hahn Stepping on the Cracks Clarion
1991 Pieter Van Raven A Time of Troubles Charles Scribner's Sons
1990 Carolyn Reeder Shades of Gray Macmillan
1989 Lyll Becerra de Jenkins The Honorable Prison Lodestar/Dutton
1988 Patricia Beatty Charley Skedaddle Morrow
1987 Scott O'Dell Streams to the River, River to the Sea Houghton Mifflin
(Award money
donated to Children's
Book Council)
1986 Patricia MacLachlan Sarah, Plain and Tall Harper & Row
1985 Avi The Fighting Ground Lippincott
1984 Elizabeth George Speare The Sign of the Beaver Houghton Mifflin



Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency