www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Ohioana Book Awards began in 1942 to bring state and national attention to Ohio authors and their books. Each year, up to six awards may be given to provide recognition and encouragement to authors for outstanding books in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Juvenile Books, Poetry, and About Ohio or an Ohioan.

The awards are sponsored by the Ohioana Library Association. Winners are announced in September of each year.

2008| 2007 | 2006 | 2005


Ohioana Library has announced the 25 finalists for the 2010 Ohioana Book Awards. Ten of the authors are past Ohioana Book Award winners.

To qualify for thhe annual Ohioana Book Awards the author must have been born in Ohio or lived in Ohio for at least five years, the exception is in the category of books “About Ohio,” and the book must have a copyright during the previous two years and been received by Ohioana during 2009. No book
can be considered more that once for the Ohioana Book Awards.

“2009 was an outstanding year for books by Ohio writers and books about Ohio and Ohioans,” said Linda Hengst, executive director of the Ohioana Library. “We receive 800-1,000 books a year, which become eligible for the book awards, so the authors of the books selected as finalists
this year should feel truly honored.”

The book awards are given in five categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, juvenile literature, and “about Ohio/Ohioans.” Ohioana will announce the winners in each category near the end of August, and recipients will be honored at the annual Ohioana Day Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on Saturday, October 16, 2010.

The 2010 Ohioana Book Award finalists are:

The Weight of Heaven, by Thrity Umrigar (Harper Collins – 2009)
Await Your Reply, by Dan Chaon (Ballantine Books – 2009)
All the Living, by C.E. Morgan (Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux – 2009)
Far Bright Star, by Robert Olmstead (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill – 2009)
The Spire, by Richard North Patterson (Henry Holt – 2009)

Non -fiction
Last of His Mind, by John Thorndike (Swallow Press – 2009)
Sweet Thunder, by Will Haygood (Knopf – 2009)
Wilderness Warrior, by Douglas Brinkley (Harper Collins – 2009)
Conservationist Manifesto, by Scott Russell Sanders (Indiana University Press – 2009)
When Everything Changed, by Gail Collins (Little, Brown & Company – 2009)

About Ohio
Wild Ohio, by Jim McCormac (Kent State University Press – 2009)
The Harding Affair, by James Robenalt (Palgrave Macmillan – 2009)
Canal Fever, by Lynn Metzger and Peg Bobel (Kent State University Press – 2009)
Passion for the Land, by Daniel Nelson (Kent State University Press – 2009)

Sweethearts of Rhythm, by Marilyn Nelson (Dial – 2009)
Cuckoo’s Haiku, by Michael J. Rosen (Candlewick – 2009)
Unfinished Angel, by Sharon Creech (Harper Collins – 2009)
Imperfections, by Lynda Durrant (Clarion – 2008)
Little Mouse Gets Ready, by Jeff Smith (RAW Junior – 2009)
Say the Word, by Jeannine Garsee (Bloomsbury – 2009)

Sonata Mulattica, by Rita Dove (WW Norton and Company – 2009)
Bright Felon, by Kazim Ali (Wesleyan – 2009)
Never-Ending Birds, by David Baker (WW Norton and Company – 2009)
Evidence, by Mary Oliver (Beacon Press – 2009)
Trust, by Liz Waldner (Cleveland State University Poetry Center – 2009)

The mission of the Ohioana Library, established in 1929 by First Lady Martha Kinney Cooper, isto recognize and encourage the creative accomplishments of Ohioans; preserve and expand a permanent collection of books, sheet music, manuscripts, and other materials by Ohioans and about Ohio; and disseminate information about the work of Ohio writers, musicians and other artists to researchers, schools and the general public. Individuals can visit the library at 274 E. First Ave., Columbus, OH, or online at www.ohioana.org.


Ohioana Book Awards: 2008

Fiction. Robert Olmstead for Coal Black Horse

Nonfiction. Ann Hagedorn for Savage Peace: Hope and Fear in America 1919

Poetry. Paul Zimmer for Crossing to Sunlight Revisited

Juvenile Literature. Margaret Peterson Haddix for Uprising

About Ohio or an Ohioan. Mary Sayre Haverstock for George Bellows: An Artist in Action

2007 Ohioana Award Winners
Fiction: Ellis Avery for The Teahouse Fire
Farrar, Riverhead Books

Nonfiction: Douglas Brinkley for The Great Deluge: Hurricane Katrina, New Orleans, and the Mississippi Gulf Coast William Morrow & Co

Poetry: Martha Collins for Blue Front , Graywolf Press
Poetry: Bruce Weigl for Declension in the Village of Chung Luong
Ausable Press

Juvenile Literature:Andrea Cheng for The Lemon Sisters G. P. Putnam’s Sons
Juvenile Literature: Sharon Draper for Copper Sun
Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

About Ohio or an Ohioan: David Hassler (text) and Gary Harwood (photographs) for Growing Season: The Life of a Migrant Community
Kent State University Press

2006 Ohioana Book Awards
Fiction: Michael Cunningham for Specimen Days. Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Nonfiction: Anne Wright and Saundra Rose Maley, editors of
A Wild Perfection: The Selected Letters of James Wright Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2005

Poetry:Elton Glaser for Here and Hereafter: Poems , University of Arkansas Press 2005

Juvenile Literature: James Cross Giblin for Good Brother, Bad Brother: The Story of Edwin Booth and John Wilkes Booth Houghton Mifflin - Clarion Books 2005

About Ohio or an Ohioan: Melanie Rehak for Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her
Harcourt 2005

2005 Ohioana Book Awards
Fiction: Anthony Doerr for About Grace, Scribner 2004

Nonfiction:Julie Salamon for Rambam's Ladder: A Meditation on Generosity and Why It Is Necessary to Give
Workman Publishing 2003

Nonfiction: Paul Zimmer for Trains in the Distance, Kent State University Press 2003

Poetry: Diane Gilliam Fisher for Kettle Bottom, Perugia Press 2004

Juvenile Literature: Louise Borden for The Greatest Skating Race, Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2004

About Ohio or an Ohioan: William Souder for Under a Wild Sky: John James Audubon and the Making of The Birds of American North Point Press 2004

back to top

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency