www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Nebula Award

The Nebula Awards are chosen by the members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novellette, Short Story, and Script. Listed here are the winners in the Novel category.


Short Story
Spar, Kij Johnson


Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask,
Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast, Eugie Foster

The Women of Nell Gwynne's, Kage Baker

The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi

Bradbury Award
Best Dramatic Production

District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

Andre Norton Award
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship Of Her Own Making, by Catherynne M. Valente


Powers (Annals of the Western Shore) - Ursula K. Le Guin

Publisher Comments:

Young Gav can remember the page of a book after seeing it once, and, inexplicably, he sometimes "remembers" things that are going to happen in the future. As a loyal slave, he must keep these powers secret, but when a terrible tragedy occurs, Gav, blinded by grief, flees the only world he has ever known. And in what becomes a treacherous journey for freedom, Gav's greatest test of all is facing his powers so that he can come to understand himself and finally find a true home. Includes maps.


"Le Guin's storytelling prowress transforms small moments into beautiful, poignantly narrated events . . . Fantasy readers seeking an intricate and thoughtful examination of a life that is as much endured as enjoyed will find Gavir to be unforgettable and his gorgeous but dangerous surroundings engaging."--The Bulletin star "With compelling themes about the soul-crushing effects of slavery, and a journey plotline that showcasese Le Guin's gift for creating a convincing array of cultures, this follow-up to Gifts and Voices may be the series' best installment."--Booklist (starred)

2008 Nebula Awards

Best Novel: Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin
Best Novella: "The Spacetime Pool" by Catherine Asaro
Best Novelette: "Pride and Prometheus" by John Kessel
Best Short Story: "Trophy Wives" by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Script: WALL-E Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter

Andre Norton Award: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) by Ysabeau S. Wilce

Solstice Award: Kate Wilhelm, A.J. Budrys and Martin H. Greenberg.

SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss

Bradbury Award: Joss Whedon

Grand Master Award: Harry Harrison

Author Emerita: M.J. Engh


The Yiddish Policemen's Union The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon

Powells.com Staff Pick
After winning the Pulitzer Prize for his groundbreaking The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Michael Chabon returns for another literary tour de force. In a "what-if" story for adults, Chabon imagines that Alaska was turned into a Jewish state after World War II. Combining speculative and detective fiction with his own distinctive literary stylings, The Yiddish Policemen's Union is an unforgettable novel. Recommended by Hank, Powells.com (read more)


Seeker Seeker by Jack McDevitt

Thousands of years after an entire colony mysteriously disappears, antiquities dealer Alex Benedict comes into possession of a cup that seems to be from the Seeker, one of the colony's ships. (read more)



Camouflage Camouflage by Joe Haldeman

Two aliens have wandered Earth for centuries. The Changeling has survived by adopting the forms of many different organisms. The Chameleon destroys anything or anyone that threatens it. Now, a sunken relic that holds the key to their origins calls to them to take them home. (read more)


Paladin of Souls Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold

"[R]ich in sumptuous detail and speculative theology....[H]igh fantasy fans should thrill at Ista's spiritual perils....This engaging installment of Chalion's mythical history whets the appetite for new marvels yet to come." Publishers Weekly (read more)


The Speed of Dark The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon

"[A] beautiful and moving story...Moon is the mother of an autistic teenager and her love is apparent in the story of Lou. He makes a deep and lasting impact on the reader while showing a different way of looking at the world." The Denver Post (read more)


American Gods American Gods by Neil Gaiman

"A magical modern Adventures of Huckleberry Finn — this book will astonish you on ever page." Tim Powers, author of Declare (read more)



The Quantum Rose The Quantum Rose by Catherine Asaro

"The Quantum Rose is a pure gift to fans of everything from fantasy romance to romantic science fiction. Asaro uses dazzling imagery, superb storytelling ability, interesting science, and intriguing drama, to spin a story that will keep you turning the pages." Preeti Singh, The Romance Reader (read more)

2000 Darwin's Radio by Greg Bear
1999 Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler
1998 Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997 The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N. Mcintyre
1996 Slow River by Nicola Griffith
1995 The Terminal Experiment by Robert J. Sawyer
1994 Moving Mars by Greg Bear
1993 Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1992 Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1991 Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
1990 Tehanu by Ursula K. Le Guin
1989 The Healer's War by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1988 Falling Free by Lois Mcmaster Bujold
1987 The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy
1986 Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
1985 Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
1984 Neuromancer by William Gibson
1983 Startide Rising by David Brin
1982 No Enemy But Time by Michael Bishop
1981 Claw of the Conciliator: New Sun 2 by Gene Wolfe
1980 Timescape by Gregory Benford
1979 The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur Charles Clarke
1978 Dreamsnake by Vonda N. Mcintyre
1977 Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1976 Man Plus by Frederik Pohl
1975 The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1974 The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia by Ursula Le Guin
1973 Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur Charles Clarke
1972 The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1971 Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg
1970 Ringworld by Larry Niven
1969 The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1968 Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin
1967 The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R. Delany
1966 Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes and Babel-17: Including Empire Star by Samuel R. Delany
1965 Dune by Frank Herbert


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency