www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award is awarded annually to a novel or book of short stories by an American author who has not previously published a book of fiction. The award is funded by the Ernest Hemingway Foundation, which has been administered by the Hemingway Society since 1987, and PEN New England. It is named for Ernest Hemingway, the author of such novels as For Whom the Bell Tolls and The Old Man and the Sea. Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction.

The winner is selected by a panel of three distinguished fiction writers and receives a cash prize of US$8000. Along with the winner, two finalists and two runners-up receive a Ucross Residency Fellowship at the Ucross Foundation, a retreat for artists and writers on a 22,000 acre (89 km²) ranch on the high plains in Ucross, Wyoming. The award ceremony is held at the John F. Kennedy Library and Museum in Boston, Massachusetts


1976 – Loyd Little for Parthian Shot
1977 – Renata Adler for Speedboat
1978 – Darcy O'Brien for A Way of Life, Like Any Other
1979 – Reuben Bercovitch for Hasen
1980 – Alan Saperstein for Mom Kills Kids and Self
1981 – Joan Silber for Household Words
1982 – Marilynne Robinson for Housekeeping
1983 – Bobbie Ann Mason for Shiloh and Other Stories
1984 – Joan Chase for During the Reign of the Queen of Sheba
1985 – Josephine Humphreys for Dreams of Sleep
1986 – Alan V. Hewar for Lady's Time
1987 – Mary Ward Brown for Tongues of Flame
1988 – Lawrence Thornton for Imagining Argentina
1989 – Jane Hamilton for The Book of Ruth
1990 – Mark Richard for The Ice at the Bottom of the World
1991 – Bernard Cooper for Maps to Anywhere
1992 – Louis Begley for Wartime Lies
1993 – Edward P. Jones for Lost in the City
1994 – Dagoberto Gilb for The Magic of Blood
1995 – Susan Power for The Grass Dancer
1996 – Chang-Rae Lee for Native Speaker
1997 – Ha Jin for Ocean of Words
1998 – Charlotte Bacon for A Private State
1999 – Rosina Lippi for Homestead
2000 – Jhumpa Lahiri for Interpreter of Maladies
2001 – Akhil Sharma for An Obedient Father
2002 – Justin Cronin for Mary and O'Neil
2003 – Gabriel Brownstein for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Apt. 3W
2004 – Jennifer Haigh for Mrs. Kimble
2005 – Chris Abani for Graceland
2006 – Yiyun Li for A Thousand Years of Good Prayers
2007 – Ben Fountain for Brief Encounters With Che Guevara
2008 - Joshua Ferris for Then We Came to the End
2009 - Michael Dahlie for A Gentleman's Guide to Graceful Living
2010 - Brigid Pasulka for A Long, Long Time Ago and Essentially True

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency